MSc Mathematics Admissions - 2018

Applications are invited for admission to MSc in Mathematics Programme. At present this course is available at the University’s Belur Main Campus.


BSc(Hons) in Mathematics/Physics/Statistics or BMath/BStat/BE/BTech to be completed by the end of the academic year in which the student appears for the examination. Students who have secured 60% or more (in honours subjects) till the end of their penultimate year of undergraduate studies may appear for the written examination. There is a relaxation of 5% for SC/ST candidates.

The fees per semester will be about Rs.3000/-.

Entrance Examination

The entrance examination will be held at the Belur Main campus of the University.

List of candidates shortlisted from the entrance examination will be put up on this Website. Candidates may look up the website accordingly.
Venue :
Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda Educational and Research Institute
Belur Main Campus (just at the entrance of Belur Math),
PO Belur Math, Howrah 711202, West Bengal
Date and Time :  24th March 2018, 1:30 pm – 4:30 pm (3 hours)

Syllabus for Entrance Examination: Undergraduate level Real Analysis, Abstract Algebra, Linear Algebra, Vector Calculus.


  1. Principles of Mathematical Analysis, W. Rudin, TMH
  2. Mathematical Analysis, T. M. Apostol, Narosa
  3. Real Analysis, S. K. Mapa
  4. Topics in Algebra, I. N. Herstein, J. Wiley
  5. Abstract Algebra, D. S. Dummitt and R. M. Foote, J. Wiley
  6. Linear Algebra, K. Hoffman and R. Kunze, PHI
  7. Higher Algebra, S. K. Mapa

Application Forms

Application forms can be collected free of charge from RKMVERI office at Belur Main Campus in person from 1st February 2018 to 19th March 2018 during the office hours (from 10 am to 5 pm).
Application form and Admit Card are also available online for download as given below.
Photocopies of this form or copies of forms downloaded from RKMVERI website are acceptable.
The Admit Card with self attested photograph must be retained by the candidate and should be produced at the time of the entrance examination. DO NOT send/submit the admit card with the application form.

Submission of Application Forms

Application forms completed in all respects should be submitted on or before 19th March 2018 either in person at RKMVERI Office in Belur Main Campus (office hours: 10 am to 5 pm) or sent by post to the address given below.
At the time of submission of completed applications, a fee of Rs. 300/- should be paid in cash if the submission is in person. If sent by post, the application should be accompanied by a Demand Draft for Rs. 300/- drawn in favour of ‘Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda Educational and Research Institute, Howrah’ payable at Belur Math, Howrah, preferably at UBI or SBI. Please write on the top of the envelope containing the application form: MSc Mathematics Admission 2018.
Address for sending the application:
    Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda Educational and Research Institute
    Belur Math, Howrah 711202
    West Bengal
Please write on the envelope:  MSc Mathematics Admission Form.
The application form should reach us on or before 19th March 2018.

Date for publishing the results for entrance exam, and interview dates for those who qualify will be announced on the day of examination.



PhD Programme

We admit students for our PhD programme every year. Students are admitted on the basis of an interview held usually in early July each year.


MSc in Mathematics. Students who have secured 60% or more till the end of their penultimate year of masters' level studies may appear. 

Students should also have qualified at one of the following national level written examinations:

  • National Board of Higher Mathematics (NBHM)
  • CSIR-NET Junior Research Fellowship

Exceptional students from other disciplines and/or exceptional undergraduates in Mathematics may also be considered, exclusively at the discretion of the Department faculty.

Issue of Application Form

Application forms may be downloaded or collected personally during office hours from the Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda Educational and Research Institute Office.

Submission of Application Form

Application forms, along with necessary certificates, can be submitted on or before 10th of June either by post or in person during office hours at the Institute office, together with a fee of Rs.300/- by cash (in person) or demand draft in favour of 'Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda Educational and Research Institute, Howrah'.